Remote debugging only works for certain hosts

I just bought BashSupport Pro on the weekend and I am a total bash noob.

I use Fedora 37 on my development client VM (where IntelliJ is running), and I also have a development server VM with the same OS and identical configuration. Remote debugging works perfectly for this VM.

However, when I try to remote debug my script on a different server, one running Oracle Linux 9, it does not work well. It copies the files over and starts executing the script. But after every line that the script echos, it prints this:

** Internal debug error _Dbg_is_file(): file argument null

The script might be able to continue in this fashion, but it stops. It’s not a BashSupport Pro problem that it stops, there’s an environment variable I need to set on the server in order for it to continue. But the above error messages are making it very difficult to track what the script is doing.

Maybe this is a no-brainer for bash experts but as I said I’m not one. Any ideas on how I solve this?

client $ bash–version
GNU bash, version 5.2.15(1)-release (x86_64-redhat-linux-gnu)

server $ bash --version
GNU bash, version 5.1.8(1)-release (x86_64-redhat-linux-gnu)

Maybe it’s an SELinux problem … I went on the server and ran the command IntelliJ says it is running. I don’t get these errors on my dev server, but I do get them on the Oracle Linux server.

bash /home/weblogic/bash-support-pro/peCKtgjnzD/bashdb --quiet --no-highlight --library /home/weblogic/bash-support-pro/peCKtgjnzD/share/bashdb /home/weblogic/bash-support-pro/ZFW4PBdR9i/my-script-name.bash
/home/weblogic/bash-support-pro/peCKtgjnzD/share/bashdb/lib/msg.sh: line 91: /dev/pts/0: Permission denied
/home/weblogic/bash-support-pro/peCKtgjnzD/share/bashdb/lib/msg.sh: line 91: /dev/pts/0: Permission denied

sudo setenforce permissive made those errors go away when I manually run bashdb, but didn’t fix remote debugging.